Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

0606 to Land's End

"I think I'll go on an Adventure"....said a Hobbit or was it my son? 

So today after a good few months of planning, my youngest son Jonathan said farewell to his family and was headed Southbound to start a fourney that hopefully one day will bring him back home.

His starting point will be Lands' End ( the Southern most tip of England) and the End Point will be John O Groats ( the Northern most tip of Scotland......and he is going to walk the whole distance.

Now the most direct route is approx 890 miles, but as he is going to be picking up alot of "Marked Way's", the distance that he intends to cover will be approx 1440 miles!!!

He has given himself just over 3 months to complete the walk just in time for a week long break in the Lake District where if he has any strength left in his legs, he can join me on wee jaunt up Helvellyn by Striding Edge.

And Yes it may be the 1st of April but this is no Joke!

I've wished him the best (as has many others). I hope that the obstacles he comes across will be overcome. The people he meets along the way will have a positive impact on him. Also he'll make some fab memories and that overall it will have an amazing impact on his journey thru life.

Bon Voyage Son!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.