The Prankster

I'd just turned onto the lane and heard a buzzard really close by, mewing.  I looked up and heard it again but couldn't see anything.  I moved a few yards into the little car parking area to get a clear view of the sky.  There it was again but no sight of a circling bird.  I was starting to think it was so close it could well be in the tree top so I started scanning the trees.  Spotting a big brown bird high up, I lifted my camera to my eye thinking I'd found him.  And this is what I saw - a jay, merrily mimicking a buzzard from its perch. 

I had a lovely natter with a guy who lives nearby and he'd heard it too as he approached, assuming the same as me.  

A mile or so further on, it twigged - jays must be partial to an April Fool too!

(I've since discovered they're pretty good at it! Buzzard, cat and human (at 2m45s)!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.