Flowers or hail?

A bit of both actually!

Steve gave me a lift to the Unit this morning, dropping some stuff off for me to take to the charity shop at the same time. We had a good climbing session and I found a lot of the Reds quite easy, steve of course was onto the Greens and the Spotties. I can't do either of those, although I had a good go at some of them. I really enjoy going bouldering with him as he encourages me to try routes I probably wouldn't otherwise, and to try them more often.

A bit of a bombshell in the car on the way there. He's not sure that he can carry on climbing indoors as he has nerve damage to one foot and standing on tiptoe often causes pain. Climbing outside isn't such a problem. The physio says there's nothing to be done except manage it. That's rubbish.

Another bombshell as he pulled up outside my house afterwards, he wondered if he'd be able to join my club on our week long Cornwall meet. Hmmm... a whole range of thoughts went through my mind in a few split seconds. It's my club! Would he cramp my style? What about all the moaning I did about him after we bust up in 2016? Etc. He saw my face and said that he was sorry he'd asked, that he shouldn't have, that I was to forget he had. I said I'd think about it.

I had lunch, I went to Tesco, I had the battery replaced in a watch** but all the time I was thinking, I couldn't think about anything else. I wrote an email, which took me ages because I kept changing it until I was sure it was right - I know him well. I sent it and had a reply back very soon. He'll see how he recovers from this morning and will then decide about the Bosigran meet... which I'm hoping is lure enough, but we'll see.

Climbers are very selfish, we want our needs and desires to be met, and I want to climb with him, outside if he can no longer climb inside, because he'll be really helpful to me and he'll up my grade and technique with his encouragement and advice. In return he'll get a climbing partner, not any time he wants, but I'd love to if I've got nothing else on. It's down to him that my diary's so full anyway, introducing me to climbing, walking and mountains. What was he thinking!

**I got a watch from the charity shop for free. The glass is quite scratched, but I want it for climbing which will result in more scratches. It's also indiglo ie the face lights up, ideal on a hutmeet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.