Jukka's Log

By jukkakos

Lucky!

Title of my blip contains two meanings.

The first is that this White-backed Woodpecker is very threatened spiecies here in Finland and there is only about 75-80 breeding pairs in narrow middle part of Finland. This one male I met in Southern Savonia, when I visited in my sisters home, celebrating my godson's birthday. There is one pair living nearby their yard as they live in the middle of nowhere in the countryside.

The second meaning is that maybe this male woodpecker was lucky to still find some easy food after hundreds of Great Tits, Bullfinches, etc...living in the same area.

This photo has been taken through the kitchen window as the bird is very scary for all moves. He even saw our moves inside the house and fly away several times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.