`I see it's that Anne Lister week!'

Overheard conversation in the Piece Hall, Halifax, this morning.  I haven't visited for years and they have made a lovely job of restoring it.  There weren't too many people about, just the right number to give a feeling of ambience to the setting.  I met up with Lorraine and Jackie, who live between Halifax and Bradford and we were there really to see the Sophie Ryder sculptures in that setting - and they looked good.  The last time I saw them it was at the Yorkshire Sculpture Park (almost on my doorstep), but that too was quite a few years ago.

Jackie and I went to see the textile exhibition in the Banksfield, while Lorraine left us to go and see the Gothic Church down the road - there seemed to be a `Church Open Day' happening across the town.  Unfortunately Jackie slipped in some mud as we got to the church gate.  One minute she was there and the next she as lying at my feet.  She messaged to say that she's had a shower and put her washing machine on, so I hope the after effects are not too bad and that she isn't too stiff tomorrow morning. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.