Three-cornered leek

Lazy morning. Coffee and croissant breakfast. Even the hound only got up for his breakfast at 10.30am. 
Made shepherdess pie (veggie) for weekend dinners. 
Took hound for sunny walk.  I'd heard on Gardeners' Question Time that ordering spring bulbs now is cheaper and many commercial gardeners do this, so I'd ordered some snowdrops which had arrived.  I planted them this afternoon. Hopefully next spring they'll flower.  

Different plants are emerging.  We seem to have lots of three-cornered leeks in the garden - main blip.  It's self-seeded and is everywhere.  I learned today that it's edible and tastes like chives or mild leeks.  The whole plant can be eaten raw in salads or cooked.  We have so much of it using it in the kitchen will be interesting.

The extra is a brunnera Jack Frost.  I saw this at the Botanical Gardens in a shaded bed and liked it so much I ordered one.  It's produced striking blue flowers.  A cyclamen nearby has decided to flower after refusing to do so. 

Have a pleasant evening and stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.