Bergen

We woke to a beautiful morning and after a scrumptious breakfast T and I took a trip up Floyen Mountain by the funicular railway. The views from the top were far reaching. Later we wandered around Bergen, calling in at the superb fish market where I took my Blip. The selection of seafood was quite amazing and this photo shows some of the more unusual ones such as sea urchins and king crab claws.
The extra shows some of the older buildings on the seafront. Some of them are being renovated but all the usual disruptive work is hidden by a mesh with a print of what the finished building will look like. I thought that this was a very clever strategy to keep the popular tourist area looking relatively spruce.
As I write this, we are leaving Bergen on one of the Hurtigruten Coastal Express ships which will be our home for the next eleven days. We will be sailing up the coast of Norway as far north as we can go then east to the town of Kirkenes, calling in at a lots of ports on the way. Then we do the whole thing in reverse but seeing the things we missed on the way north because we were fast asleep. I am beyond excited!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.