Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Silver

This afternoon I did a taster workshop in silver clay, which was brilliant. This is one of the pieces I made, which will be a pendant, once I've got a chain for it. It was at the Arienas Collective in a mews property in the New Town, one of the hidden bits of Edinburgh that you never knew existed. I may well be back for more silver clay and other workshops. 

Incidentally, silver clay is made from recycled silver which is converted to very fine particles and mixed with an organic binder so that it handles like clay. When you've finished modelling it, it gets fired with a blow torch and then polished. So it could be done at home, although I guess a bit more know-how would be useful before trying that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.