Newport County 0 Exeter City 1

Chester didn't have a game today so I thought I would visit a new ground to further chip away at my attempt to visit the 92 Football League grounds. Most of them are too far away so I don't expect to finish them but it is fun trying. I had been to Newport County's old Somerton Park ground many years ago but this was my first trip to Rodney Parade and is number 81 of the 92.

For a change I decided to go on the train and I really enjoyed the experience  despite a couple of glitches on the way and it is something I will do again.

The game itself wasn't particularly good for a neutral as two well-organised teams cancelled each other out. There was very little quality or flair and virtually no shots on goal. It just reinforces my thought that non-league football may not have the skill but the games are a lot more exciting. Nevertheless I really enjoyed the day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.