Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Trying not to ...

Despite the visit from the plumber yesterday, we were wakened at 6.50am by the cistern in the en-suite trickling again. I wish things weren't so plasticky these days - I feel a good solid set of valves would cope better with the gunk that seems to drift around in our water supply. (BTW - does anyone else find their water leaves pink stains in the shower when it dries? It's not my hair - honest!) I couldn't really sleep again after that, though I didn't feel at all inclined to get up and doing - just sort of droopy, with a bit of a headache that could be tension or hypochondria ...

So I had a very leisurely breakfast and did Wordle and Byrdle before I cleared up, but after I'd been revived by my morning coffee I wrote the Intercessions for tomorrow and a wee speil about a couple of 16th century songs from the court of King James VI which will be my contribution to the concert we're giving tomorrow. (See - I'm going to be busy again: que faire?)

We both dropped off in an elderly fashion after lunch, but the sun was shining and the madness drove us out for a walk (well, Himself drove, but you know what I mean) Loch Striven was glorious; there was a big modern RFA ship at the pier and more people than usual out walking - perhaps because the school holidays have begun. It was barely 3 miles, but we both felt exhausted.

I've spent the evening annoying my older granddaughter by phoning her several times to make sure she was doing her homework and not using her parents' absence of a few hours to throw a wild party ... I'm impressed by her determination to do Physics homework on a Saturday evening. But now I'm taking my hypochondria off to bed - I just need to be fit tomorrow and then I can collapse properly!

Blipping the incongruous sight of this big naval vessel in our quiet loch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.