LA BELLA VITA

By Bella888

Man with a message - and more about Friday night

It’s OK, I’m not trying to preach to you. To be honest I just thought this guy made for a really good blip. But yes, you all know I’m vegan, so naturally I’m secretly delighted to share his message.

My adored Apple watch flagged up I’d done double my moves this week. So had a lush chocolate spread on toast to celebrate. We have walked a fair amount this week, 11,200 steps (8 km) today. No wonder I’m crashed out on the bed.

Just watched Stanley Tucci in Florence, my second home (many moons ago). Where my taste buds were changed forever. Long Live Tuscan food. I learned to love beans (cannellini, borlotti etc.) there. A simple dish of cannellini beans drizzled with decent olive oil, a sprinkle of salt and pepper, and I’m on cloud nine.

Back to Friday night. Awoken at 3 am by the bell ringing. Thought I’d dreamt it. Then some banging, put down to the lift which clonks on occasion. Then what sounded like someone trying to smash our front door down, followed by glass crashing. At that point I dialled 999..

The loud banging continued. Mr B saw a man staggering about outside in the small hallway outside our front door. He kept disappearing into the lift or to the stairwell. I could hear talking and assumed there was a gang out there rampaging on other floors. I called the police again.

Finally the police arrived, it took about 10 mns so can’t complain. I suggested they entered via the stairwell, and by the lift, in case the intruders tried escaping by one or the other.

Was relieved to hear they had apprehended him. He was extremely abusive to them and had to be restrained with pepper spray (bet that’s painful). I learn the next day, from a delightful PC who messaged and called to update me, that one drunken fellow was responsible.

It transpired he was at a stag party, had been drinking - encouraged by his mates - since midday. He had lost his way back to the hotel which was on the other side of town, and finally thought his room was in our block. Some ***** let him when he buzzed!

He was too drunk to open the stairwell doors, hence all the loud banging (resulting in several loose handles, and a damaged door frame). He said he was mortified to have damaged my painting in the communal hallway - he threw it to the ground in frustration at not getting into his room. 3 floors suffered some damage, hope he gets the bill.

That’s the saga that was Friday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.