Abernethy Cottage Life

By Keir

Lochaber Marathon

Well I set out with the a goal and failed. But in reality I had had a bit of a shit last two months training wise what with 2 weeks out with the flu and my strained popliteus. In the end it was lack of time in the shoes that did it for me but I had reset my goals and probably accept my time as reasonable. Don't yet know exactly what my time was as it is a fairly low key marathon (400 folk) but they will put it up soon - I am reckoning high 3.07s. So still got the sub 3hour marathon goal.

To add to the fun R had come up for the run too, we'd spent the night with good friends in Spean Bridge the night before the run. Drove to the venue, I set off. R went a long the road to support and cheered me from various vantage points. She was rudely on the phone when I went by about mile 19 and it turns out she was talking to the AA man. Car has just died. So we came home in the tow truck, the car is sitting outside the garage and I'll shoot into Perth tomorrow and hopefully all will be well with the world as I have drive to Wales on Tuesday. Better not be something expensive

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.