Photography

I really should get back into proper photography. I found the manual for my good camera today.

This blip is a photo of a gentleman standing in the orchard that neighbours my parents property. The orchard is now full of large trees. It love how this photo says so much about that time! I’ve inherited the photos and spent time trying to sort out what to preserve in a book.

Today I took loads of photos as I need to renew my passport. I looked dreadful on all the photos and it was so tricky doing it with no help whilst managing to avoid shadows/ background interference. I don’t have much light coloured space to stand in front of in this small bungalow so I had to take a huge green acrylic painting down from the bedroom. I bought it on eBay years ago for about £35 which was a bargain as it’s huge and done by an artist recognised in Singapore who was asked to do abstract paintings for civic buildings. I think it cost about £15 to get it to me from London which felt very expensive at the turn of the millennium.

I’m hoping to see my folks in summer and I know MrH will be keen to go to France so passport and new travel insurance is needed. We have ferry tickets but whether we can re-book in summer is another matter. We have to use them before the end of December. . .

I planted my first seeds of the year today. MrH left my propagator outside, over winter, and somehow the plug is still working and it’s survived. We are lucky because there is a small roof over part of the Veranda so it doesn’t get doused in water when it rains however it wasn’t the best place to leave it and first I thought it had completely gone kaput and I’d need to buy new one. The original much larger electronic propagator went missing about a couple years ago and we still can’t find it which is ridiculous considering the size of the propagator to the size of the house. Mr H doesn’t like migraine plants in the porch because he feels it’s not good for the structure. He may be correct as I ended up having to wash the back of the front door today and it definitely looked worse for wear.

I’ve planted red squash (very successful last year), large red Italian tomatoes, cucumber, purple broccoli (a first for me), and basil. I plan to plant beans, salad and potatoes this year. I’ve asked my tree man to come back and cut the willow that is huge sky blocking light to my raised beds. He’s on holiday in a van in Spain till mid-late April (eeek).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.