One day at a time

By MikeSlade

Surgery visit

A view not often seen; the  it’s from a seat in the doctor’s surgery waiting room. The view has changed during the pandemic. There used to be a large counter where the notice board and wall is. Reception is reduced to a small glass hatch. It takes me back to childhood when our GP then had the same arrangement. He, in the late 50s, used a fountain pen to write notes on long thin cards. I asked the nurse whether they still have those paper pockets crammed with cards. ‘Yes, we do’ she said. But now everything is recorded online. 
I was there for a ‘free’ health check. With the NHS it’s always free isn’t it? Or are we being conditioned for a future change? However I discovered today I am almost 2 inches shorter than I was when I was 18, I’ve lost some weight since last time but apply BMI is still a little too high. My blood pressure is on the higher side of normal (it’s always been 120 over 80) and she recommended I borrow a blood pressure monitor from the surgery for a week to see how it varies. Anything over 140 over 90 is high, I learned. I don’t exercise enough. Although I walk miles every day it’s not fast enough. So I’ve downloaded an NHS app that monitors my speed of walking not just the distance. So I’ve already done my 10 minutes of fast walking. When I got home I walked up the hill to the church and back, good for the body and the soul. 
Thanks for listening. ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.