Arachne

By Arachne

For the memory

It's unlikely that any of these plants will be alive next spring, when I hope most of the building work on my house will be done. No, not even the old apple tree. But I hope the young apple tree in the half-water-butt (bottom left) will be. It's one of the ones I grafted a year ago and I'll move it and its three siblings to a quiet corner when the builders arrive.

Last spring, hoping that planning permission would be granted soon and that builders would follow quickly thereafter, I grew a lot of squash, tomatoes, courgettes, lettuce and strawberries. I thought I'd either have a harvest or a start on the work. I got the harvest.

Now that I have planning permission I'm wondering whether to play the same gamble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.