Trisharooni

By trisharooni

Not So Tiny

A friend dropped in this afternoon, and when I walked him out to the car I discovered he'd brought me a blip.

This handsome huntsman was spreadeagled on the windscreen and obligingly sat very still while I got the camera.
He looks better large.
I didn't want to risk my luck by swapping for the macro lens, but the nifty fifty did a pretty good job. 
I think he was about 7cm long, which helped, and now I know you'll all want one.

The extra is a very angry swallowtail caterpillar, which I'd originally intended for the main blip.
Those fabulous red antennae came out briefly when I got too close, but I was ready:)
Correction: Not antennae, but osmeterium, which is a defensive organ found in all papilionid larvae, in all stages. The organ is situated in the prothoracic segment and can be everted when the larva feels threatened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.