Maximus

A crazy weather day.  Lots of wind and rain and more wind.  Some sun but not much.  'spring!!!  Maximus loves the wind.  I had taken new passport pictures yesterday and had the whole renewal package ready heading out after work to the Post Office nearby that works out of a grocery store thinking they were open until 8:00 pm They closed at 6:00 pm.  Nora sent me an early birthday present this past weekend  - tickets to Automat, the documentary.  I saw it Sunday night with a friend.  Wow it was good.  I remember the last Automat in NYC - I had newly arrived in the city and was working crazy temp jobs in Wall Street.  I would come back to midtown in the night hungry and stumbled upon it by accident.  I thought it was so wonderful - coffee and macaroni and cheese and rice pudding.  at a marble table surrounded by what I was sure were intellectual giants reading their books and newspapers drinking endless cups of coffee.  Wonderful.  The documentary is so good.  Hope you get a chance to see it.  It is playing little towns all over the US and some places in Canada but it will probably be available by streaming soon.  Mel Brooks narrates some of it.  Appearances by Ruth 'Bader 'Ginsberg and Colin Powell and Elliot Gould.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.