An okay read

It's nice once in a while to read a book in an edition which hasn't been brought out as a spin-off to the hard sell for the filmed Slumdog Millionaire version. Vikas Swarup's Q & A was all the better for it, really. From what I've read of the film, some liberties have been taken with the plot as it is in the book (the main protagonist's name has been changed, his best friend has turned into his brother -- that sort of thing), but I guess the overall idea remains the same.

I enjoyed the book, and read it quickly. I'd have to say, though, that I was troubled by the language, and especially with a lot of the dialogue, which just didn't ring true. I found it quite irritating to begin with (I actually checked to see if it had been translated, rather than written originally in English), but was swept along by the plot as I worked my way through and was less worried by the often uncomfortable turns of phrase. All in all, I'd say it's a 7 out of 10. I'd be interested in seeing the film, but wouldn't make a special effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.