NigelHarvey

By NigelHarvey

Union Canal

Sundays are always a little truncated (for me) because my partner gets up at 4.15am to go to work at M&S until 9am, then back in the evening for another 4 hour shift. So our day together is often just poodling about doing nothing very much. Today was one of those days. We went out to do a big shop, and I was toying with a Blip from the supermarket, accompanied by a rant about how ridiculous it is that on one vegetable stand the spring onions were from Morrocco, the celery from Egypt, the beans from Guatemala, the sweet corn from Zambia - it went on and on and on. Can't we grow food in this country anymore!! But I thought I wouldn't spoil my Sunday (or yours) with a curmudgeonly diatribe about globalism. So when we came home I just had to get out for a bike ride along the canal to soak up some of the sunshine and wind over water, and light, and space, and aaahhhh, no people. I wanted to take some really peaceful Sunday afternoon photos, but the sun was actually quite bright and I found myself snatching at pictures and being disappointed. Then the battery on the camera went dead on me, so nothing for it but to make do with what I had got. And this is it.

LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.