A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

A Special Manicure

I don't get manicures. Ever. But I made an exception last night. We had dinner and birthday coconut cream pie at our daughter's house and Olivia REALLY wanted to give me a manicure. At first her mom said no, that Nana doesn't like nail polish, but I decided to go ahead and be her subject. I figured since I was the customer, she would have to abide by my choice of color - the nearly invisible pale pink. But no, it turns out that Livy's choice was red. It was rather horrendous after she was done, with bright red polish slopped on skin and nails - not exactly a professional job. But she's only four, after all. And she had a pretty steady hand surprisingly (she's had lots of practice on her mom and other grandma apparently). Today the polish on the middle finger disappeared during my hair washing. And the rogue polish on the skin is gone too, so it doesn't look too bad, in my opinion--yea I know it looks like crap. Although I would never, ever choose red. Not ever. But anything for Olivia. And it did keep her busy for a good seven minutes.

I've turned over a new leaf recently. It's all about that 'living in the moment' thing. I figure if I try super hard to not have expectations on outcome, the moments of joy are more plentiful. So, instead of saying have a great day! I'll say have a few great moments! Because we all know that an entire great day isn't realistic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.