photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 103 of 365 - The Whittle Roundabout!

Welcome to day 103 of 365 (Finished image after Editing)

The original photo was taken early this evening in Lutterworth, Leicestershire. After visiting my Uncle I saw this A statue of a Gloster E.28/39 in the middle of a roundabout just south of town centre. The aircraft stands as a memorial to Sir Frank Whittle who was the inventor of the jet engine. The Gloster E.28/39 is credited as the UK's first jet aeroplane.

As always the shot was taken with my iPhone 5. The photo was taken using the camera App KitCam for iPhone and saved as a TIFF file before any editing. The original image can be found here: Unedited original Image.

First of all I used Snapseed to crop and edit the photo. The edits were made by sharpening the image and then adding some extra structure. I then applied the first Drama filter to the picture. Next I used an App called Alien Sky to turn the image into a fantasy style by adding a Top Gradient filter to the picture to darken the sky, I also added a Moon to the image as well as adding a Lens Flare to the street light. Finally I used the App Tangled FX with a custom preset to boost the overall image colour and complete the fantasy style while highlighting the aircraft.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.