South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Memorabilia

I had put a lot of my parents’ memorabilia in the cupboard in my craft room and I spent a lot of time sorting through it and putting it in plastic boxes to go in the loft.  There were several booklets amongst it that particularly interested me and this is one of them.  Having lived in Portsmouth for the first 20 years of my life I thought it would be interesting to look at this book as it has photos in it too of various areas.  Maybe not the most cheerful read though…

I also found old birthday cards, letters and wedding telegrams and cards.  And my Dad’s service records and references were also amongst it.  One letter was written to my Mum before they were engaged and were aged 18.  It appears that Mum was jealous of a lady called Mary that she thought my Dad was interested in and Dad was reassuring her that he wasn’t interested!  I know for a fact that Dad was not a womaniser and had eyes for nobody but Mum, right from the start.  I never knew about this letter before!!  The things you find out!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.