Pine Cone

Every Sunday I watch the "Show with the Mouse" with my dad. We always learn something new.
Last Sunday was about pine cones. I was very happy when I spotten one in our garden today. It's the round one, the long is a spruce cone.
Charles was investigating both. He told me: 
"The cones "recognise" the weather through their wooden structure. If it is damp, the outer parts of the scales swell up a little and thus close up. This protects the seeds from the weather. If it is dry, these parts lose the water and the cone scales bend apart - the seeds can then be caught by the wind and carried away.
The opening and closing can be repeated many times. Therefore, one can take advantage of this property even without the contained seeds. This works best with cones from pine, spruce and larch."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.