Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

An elegant White Faced Heron

An Amazing Sunrise this morning! Must have been the very best this autumn!!! Anyway, after I got two or three panos I discovered that there wasn't a card in the Sony Nex7, so that kinda dealt to that. Yeah I know, the little sign was flashing at me, but that sky was so exciting out off my deck . . . . . . Maybe you've been saved from another Sumner Sunrise - you've probably seen enough of my sunrise pics for a while anyway! (until tomorrow perhaps?)

Well, what do you think of this guy then? Or gal. What an elegant, gorgeous bird - a White Faced Heron, Ardea (Egretta) novaehollandiae also known as Matuka-moana, blue heron, (and somewhat incorrectly, blue crane), self introduced from Australia, began nesting here in the late 1940s so as a consequence is classified as a native. Thanks Oz, for letting us have it too.

I've sometimes seen them from my kayak, but have never had a good enough camera with me to manage a clear shot. I'm really pleased with this one. They're somewhat inelegant taking off and landing, but once airborne they glide with consummate grace. I could watch them for hours.

Lens - Nikon 70-200 f/4G ED VR AF-S

Thanks to everyone who has enquired about my knee - it's a torn meniscus that's causing the problem. No arthritis and a sound joint structure means an op is likely. I think I'm pleased ?? it's good to know though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.