Female Pileated Woodpecker at Work

This morning I took a walk up through Big Rock Park. I wanted to see if the Pileated Woodpeckers were still working on the hole in the dead tree along the trail to Silver Beach School. When I first got there nothing was happening. Then I heard the woodpecker's call and the female flew in to the area and was soon working on the hole. It is getting really big. She can almost completely fit inside. She worked and I photographed and video taped her for awhile. Then I heard another call in the distance and she answered. Soon the male flew in to join her. He was higher in the tree and I didn't get a very good photo of him. In awhile I noticed a hawk circling above and the male flew off. I think he was trying to attract the hawk away from their nest area. I stayed to photograph the female a bit more.

Soon it was time to walk home. We all were going heading out at one o'clock to attend the last Whatcom Symphony Orchestra concert. Sharon Isbin was playing Rodrego's Concierto de Aranjuez and we were all excited to hear her play and see how the fourth candidate for the open director position handled the orchestra. It was a truly wonderful concert and I loved the way the orchestra played under this conductor.

On the way home I took a bunch of shadow and reflection photos and used the in camera processing to fiddle with them. You can see the results here.

Hope you all had a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.