Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Puffas and snow ...

Today felt like winter again - I think the temperature didn't get above 7ºc all day, even in the afternoon sunshine. When I left the house this morning just after 8am, there was a fine powdering of snow on the hills to the north, and I was back in my thick fleece hoody with my puffa over the top and looking a bit like Nanook of the North. The supermarket was blissfully empty of shoppers and surprisingly well-stocked for a change - especially the olive oil shelf, which has been very bare these last few weeks. I suspect the lack of customers at that time in the morning makes me care even less than usual what I look like.

My sourdough had at last risen sufficiently to bake the loaf, which turned out to be delicious despite its long lie. I think I'm going to have to pay some serious attention to the starter to liven it up a bit. The downside was that having carted in all the shopping I then had to put it all away as Himself had a physio appointment at the hospital. Somehow I managed to twist my knee while bending down to rescue some small item from the depths of a carrier bag. Curses, not loud but deep ...

I went out with my pal this afternoon, this time with the two spaniels in tow, which meant the the walk was rather less brisk than usual as it had to accommodate their rambling curiosity all the way up the Glen Massan road. They can't be let off leads on such a narrow road, so there's always the danger of being tripped up if you don't watch the cat's cradle of extending leads - but at least there's no yelling for them to come back. I took the photo near the start of the walk as we crossed the bridge over the Massan Burn just before the village; it's only rarely that we ever see it looking blue, so it caught my eye.

Nice FaceTime call from #2 son as I was cooking dinner - showing what they've been doing to their house as they gradually replace the fittings that came with it when it was built 13 or so years ago. This time it was flooring and the revamping of the sitting room and his office - it must have been so much work organising it. Younger granddaughter has a chest infection, which seems to be post-Covid but may not; she looked a tad sorry for herself. I hate not being able just to pop round.

Right now, I'd like to be in bed. Magic wand, anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.