Man, Mountain or Fish

By StevieFish

The red men can dance

for those of you in 'Embra' you'll know how windy it is outside today. Bright sunshine, showers, and wind. Lots and lots of wind.

Lunchtime came, and being devoid of my blip buddies (both mono and boab are off today) I set off clear the cobwebs. Up Calton hill, where else. The wind was truly impressive up there and the views worth the battering. I almost posted the pano's from the top of the hill but...

tied to a bush I saw two little red votive figurines dancing in the wind.

'whit the...?' was my first thought, swiftly followed by recollections of where I've seen similar before, Once in Ireland (Donegal) beside a 'holy' well - but the offerings were more pagan than christian, and the other time was around a Gypsy camp down the coast.

Then, I remembered. The spring equinox, fires up the hill, the red men dancing, the mystery solved before it even began. Some Beltane reveller, probably a proper pagan, making their offering on the night.

I'm just surprised that they stayed there so long.

Oh, and these little dolls probably danced better with the help of the wind spirits than the real red men did last Thursday night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.