Sebulon

By sebrose

Evening meal II

Another excellent day. The keynote was my personal high point. Hannah Dee talked about how “Diversity is too important to be left to women” :). It was bang in the nail, delivered with warmth and humour.

Jutta’s workshop on sustainability in software delivery was more than timely. The discussions were sometimes enlightening, but, unsurprisingly, no cure for the climate crisis was forthcoming.

I ended up doing two 20 minute talks back to back after lunch: Example Mapping and DevSecOps. They seemed to go well, but at this stage, which can tell?

After the lightning talks (which were fun, but nothing stands out) we headed to StreatWok for tea. The intention was to walk, but somehow I managed to ignore the maps app at critical junctures, ending up going in entirely the wrong direction. In the end, we got there by Uber.

The place is small, mainly takeaway, seating 15 people max, but it’s a real find. Excellent food, great atmosphere, and wonderful service. My green tofu curry was one of the best that I’ve had.

We went to the pub next door (Kay went home instead) and then the hotel bar. Which is where things started to go downhill. Suffice it to say that Rob and I were Lakosed - involving a corporate credit card and excessive alcohol. I’m going to regret this tomorrow - whether I remember it or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.