kettwigefrau

By kettwigefrau

If you go down to the woods today...

...it will be dark and spooky...

Fortunately my planned walk went straight down through the woods and then wound back up along a less treeed* and therefore sunnier route, I was half expecting to get wet as the pessimistic weather people don't want us to have the pleasure of sun and blue skies for so long that we get all our summer clothing out (too late, my toe nails are vibrant pink since Saturday and therefore will be exposed to the fresh air as often as possible) but the weather gods smiled on me today ensuring I got hot and sweaty instead of wet and grumpy.

After turning my house blue yesterday for a baby shower (for a friend, in case you're new to me) I'm waiting to see which of the elderly neighbours across the road will be the first to venture to offer congratulations on my forthcoming familial addition. Actually, knowing the German superstitious nature (which ensures that presents shouldn't be given before the event, because it's bad luck, and birthday wishes should never be offered before the date (red rag to a bull for most of us expats) for the same reason) maybe I'll just get some blunt and forthright comment about how well or not I'm looking given my 'condition'...tee hee.


* have gone native and starting making up new words, because I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.