In An Instant

By MrRosewarne

'10 Years Together'

This week marks the tenth anniversary of our first ever date.

A work colleague of mine invited me and and a few others of her friends out one night to see a band playing in Brunswick. Little did I know that one of those other friends would one day become my wife, the love of my life, my best friend and the mother to our children.

After chatting for a while, my work colleague Michelle threw out a challenge to all of the single people who were invited along."Okay, I want all of you single people to see if you can arrange 1 date every month". Quick as a flash, this quiet shy little girl called out "I'll be your first date okay". Me thinking she was just joking, laughed it off and thought nothing more about it, until...... the next work Monday I received a phone call in the office from her asking when I would like to arrange that date with her.

Anyway I did, and a week or so later I picked her up after work and we drove up to the top of Mt. Dandenong. We had a nice chat and a walk around, and then the most amazing thunderstorm and lightning struck. The heavens opened up and torrential rain fell. We quickly jumped back in the car and headed down the mountain to Belgrave and found a nice little club with a band playing and decided to go inside. BANG, the lights went out, it was a total blackout. The managers of the club ran around handing out candles to all of the tables and the drummer started to play softly. All of the other instruments were electric so that was the end of them, and that was the beginning of the rest of our lives together.

I'm so grateful for that one single night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.