Snow bomb!


I woke early this morning to find snow pouring out of the sky. Jan was already awake and downstairs working on her language check. I had a quick drink and returned to bed, wondering if I could sleep some more. 2 hours later I woke up. Nine hours of sleep seems to indicate I'm still not 100% healthy but every day I feel a bit better and now I've done 24 hours without any medication. During the day today I shovelled snow for a couple of hours, slowly and gently, but the snow got shifted.
It has snowed all day and it'll snow all day tomorrow, and then most of Sunday. We've talked to several neighbours who all agree that we really didn't need another 30 cm of snow. But we are getting it.
We are driving to Sundsvall tomorrow, for a Left Party course on how to prepare for the September election. The drive could be slow but as long as the traffic keeps moving we'll get there. There will be four of us in the car so if we get stuck in a long traffic jam we can discuss politics in the car. Plenty of hot air then.
The main picture shows our cellar door, before one of my snow clearing exercises. If the snow was cold and fluffy i could just use a bit of brute force to get the door open but this is "British" snow, wet and heavy. Each shovelful was an effort to lift but since I know it's all going to melt in a week or so I don't have to move it far and it only took 10 minutes to get into the cellar.
The extra shows the village, as seen from our house, and portrays the intensity of the snow when it was really coming down.
And finally a correction...
Yesterday I accused Postnord of trying out their new postal routines in the north of Sweden, instead of in the richer south.  Blippers from further south in Sweden informed me that on Öland they've been using this system for a while, and it's even in place in (parts of?) Stockholm. So, my thanks to other Swedish blippers for letting me know how it was further south, and my apologies to Postnord.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.