Transitoire

By Transitoire

Accompagnatrice

As well as the normal quatrième INTER I had some Finnish students as well, which swelled my class numbers by double. Getting into school after another late night was a bit of a struggle, not going to lie...but my mind is now starting the countdown to leave so I can never say no to anything anymore! Not going to be too good for my liver, or my health, but that is not too much of a problem I would say - I'm going to use the "I'm still young" excuse! I'm not sure what the Fins thought of me to be honest, because I'm a pretty bouncy teacher...I don't tend to use the board that much, a lot of my work is spoken and my focus is on interaction...so when they found they were going to have to speak to me and join in I think it was a bit of a shock! They seemed to really enjoy the lesson though, and when I was with them for the afternoon, the ones who were in my lesson came straight over to talk to me, so hopefully that is a good thing.

So yes, I had to look after the Fins as well for the afternoon. I say look after them, I installed myself in a coffee shop so they had somewhere to come back to, and then Mathieu came to keep me company and we had a lovely few hours chatting. The weather here is just starting to improve, so we're starting to sit outside the cafés rather than inside now, quite a nice change to be honest! After depositing the students back at the school after their free afternoon; Mathieu and I had a bit more of a wander round Caen before seeing the trams the most packed I have ever seen them and having to get a bus home. But hey ho, worse things happen at sea!

This picture is of Rue Froide, 'Cold Street'. It first appears in 12th Century Charters, so it has been around for a pretty long time! It is situated close to the former university and it became, during the 15th Century, the street chosen by the many printers working in Caen. The houses featured big arcades that framed shuttered « échoppes » opening directly onto the street. Between the courtyards and gardens - and hidden from view - lie tucked away manor houses dating from the 15th and 16th centuries, built for the wealthy bourgeois of the town.

My evening was spent in Au P'tit Grumeau, a little crêperie in the Vaugueux, with a few of the teachers and also the Finnish teachers. Really nice meal, and well worth a visit...even though the translation of the menu (written in English underneath the French!) was pretty hilarious...my favourite being émincé du poulet (thin slices of chicken) being translated as 'sliced thinly by chicken'. Things got quite riotous at the French end of the table thanks to three bottles of wine between four people (three French and I) and a glass of Calvados each so it was decided that we had to continue the night somewhere, so I found myself in O'Donnell's, an Irish themed pub by the port with Cyrille, Pierre and Karine...and for some reason I found it really easy to speak in French. I mean, I know the alcohol would have definitely helped...but I think it is because I was in a different environment than school, where I originally struggled quite a bit to be understood. It is the whole being in certain places that blocks me up!

Comme d'hab my night didn't end there; as I headed to meet up with the Erasmus lot at l'Écume des Nuits before going to find Baptiste and Justine at Dublin and having a very interesting few hours with them. So yes, in one night I had three different rendez-vous, and needless to say I think I will be knackered tomorrow...but you know what, so worth it! Plus, I was out so long I got to take the first tram home, saving money and meaning I didn't have to stay over at anyone's house, perfect!



A little side note: thank you so much to everyone who read, glanced at, and especially to those who commented on my 200th Blip yesterday. I was overwhelmed by all of your messages, and just wanted to say how happy I am to belong in this community of lovely people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.