Oh deer... at Miyajima

A wonderful day to wonder around Miyajima (world heritage), a 30 minute train ride and a 10 minute ferry ride to get there.

Got my favorite conger eel bento box on the way and had a stroll around Itsukushima Shrine before having a seat for lunch in front of the tori (entrance to the shrine).

Well, I guess the deer here were quite hungry. They spotted our lunch very well and was urging us to feed them.

Finished lunch and off to the top of Miyajima, Mt Misen, 530m above sea level. Taking the ropeway and the gondora up to the middle and walked another 30 minutes up the hill to reach the top.
A fabulous view up there on a nice day like today.

Went down to get in to the Itsukushima Shrine and see the orange and white contrast floating on top of the inland sea. (Well, I hope it was since the tide went out so quickly and far that the tori itself was able to reach by foot by the time came back here).
There was supposed to be a ceremony and demonstration (traditional imperial music and dancing called gagaku) here but unfortunately I ran out of time today before had to rush back to catch a shinkansen (bullet train) back to Tokyo.

It was my pleasure to have the opportunity to attend my guests around my hometown this weekend (+ a day off today).
See you guys later in Tokyo next weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.