Chats

Much lazier day. Mx came in to my room (well, his really, I’d evicted him to stay here) twice in the night, and the second time I gave in and let him climb in with me. He was fine and slept soundly til 7am when he suddenly popped awake and started his never ending stream of consciousness chat that continues till he finally falls asleep again at night.
After a slowish morning over cereal and episodes of The Floor is Lava on TV, he helped me with some of my Italian lessons (think he picked up a few words….certainly responded to the game format!) then I got dressed. Shortly afterwards N arrived…haven’t seen her for so long, but it was lovely to catch up with her and we chatted about her family, Covid, retirement/going part time, dogs, holidays and acid reflux!
After she left I quickly packed, had some swing and garden time with the kids then drove to P’s. Hadn’t heard about the petrol and diesel shortages but panicked when the third garage I tried had none. Finally found somewhere that had some but at a heck of a price so didn’t buy too much….hope I find somewhere to fill up before setting off for home tomorrow.
P started out quite grumpy but I just let him talk and gradually he cheered up. He was delighted to hear Mx has taken up tennis and is sure he’ll be the next GB champion, and was pleased when I sorted out his tennis tv subscription so he can watch lots of matches on his iPad. He talked about all his recent Dr’s appointments, how C helps him, his lack of appetite, Diesel’s health, and all the things he has on his to do list (but none of which he’ll accept help with!). He’s particularly concerned to get ‘his schedule’ sorted which I think is about what drugs he has to take when, but seems to want to do it all on an excel spreadsheet. Didn’t want me to type it in for him, even though I could have done it in about 10 minutes, but good that he has a plan for it and even talking it all through seemed to help. By the time I left him, after C had collected Diesel for his afternoon walk, he was much chirpier and on pretty good form.
Drove to T&Kt’s to say goodbye and we had a nice catch up on what they’ve done since they left Norfolk. Both been very busy, and T looking forward to his friend’s stag trip to Bermuda (!) in a couple of weeks. Checked over their garden, looking good as always, then back to K’s for lovely roast chicken and French peas supper and a collapse on her sofa for the last chat of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.