Finnmark

We reached our easternmost port of call, Kirkenes. Here we were very close to the Norway-Russia border, and within 7 kilometres of it when we visited the Ice Hotel. In pre-Covid times, relations between Norway and Russia were very cordial in this area, with Russians visiting Kirkenes to shop for items not easily obtained in Russia. Likewise, Norwegians would cross to Russia to shop more cheaply, particularly for fuel. However, since Covid and the recent Russian invasion of Ukraine, the people are still the same but perceptions of events may be causing confusion.
My main shows the Ice Hotel bar where we were treated to an ice-cold shot of crowberry juice, delicious. Although the beds carved from crystal clear ice looked beautiful, I wasn’t sure whether I would like to sleep here for a night as I don’t fancy getting up in my night attire to visit the toilet at a temperature of -4C!
Outside, we met some of the huskies which love their work, pulling visitors around the area on sleds. We could tell from the excited barking that every one of the 140 dogs wanted to chosen to be harnessed to the next sled. We also met some reindeer and fed them a snack. I was delighted to feel the velvety nose brush my hand as it gently scooped up the lichen I was offering.
Back at sea we battled through a rather bumpy Barents Sea which had an adverse effect on a number of passengers so it was a relief to dock in the shelter of Vardo, (third extra) if even for half an hour, before entering the fray once more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.