Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Waiting for the Chauffeurs

A working day which started with a combination of walk, then swim and then return walk.  My swimming times continue to improve gradually so next week I will be increasing the distance I swim to build up my stamina.

I worked up until early afternoon and then had a photographic job, working for my council, to take images for this year's civic dinner.  I did the same the last time one took place, back in 2019.  This year it was held at Himley Hall and the manager suggested I use the main staircase to pose my groups.  I thought it was a great idea so set up the lighting expecting a maximum of 9 or 10 people as the largest group, so when 22 people trooped in for the main photograph I was knocked sideways.

Even asking people to get close together (not the cleverest thing to do with Covid rates still very high), the group spread all the way up the first flight of stairs.  I knew that the people at the back would only be getting a quarter of the light from the studio strobes in comparison with those closest to the camera.  I was relieved when Lightroom came to the rescue and I've been able to send the images off the next morning for approval.  Hopefully they will be pleased.

This table was set out for the chauffeurs who bring the dignitaries from the other councils across Staffordshire.  I was hoping I would be finished to catch the sunset, but in the end I was still at the hall dismantling equipment. I'm not that comfortable doing people portraits, probably why I like the solitude of early morning sunrises.  Saying that it was a bright and sunny start to the day but I only had my phone with me so just enjoyed the 'Photon Shower' as I walked through the park on the way to the pool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.