Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

On Thursday I had completed 20% of my current 12-month fixed-term contract. Despite that, I am still undergoing my compulsory induction to the company and Thursday morning's offering was a 2-hour live online lecture about sustainability delivered by a “senior sustainability manager”, though I have no idea how many of those you get to a bag. 
I was told fascinating facts about carbon emissions making a tragedy of our climate; what Miami might look like very soon, that kind of thing. Very little that I didn't already know, but nobody measured whether or not I was listening, paying attention, understood, learned anything new or just had it on in the background whilst getting on with my job. The person who unmuted their mic to exclaim “This is so Boring!” will no doubt have been noted, but the rest of us were just boxes ticked.
The person who delivered the lecture is soon to leave their role and begin a new job at Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 Team at Brackley, Northants. Whether this means that Formula One is keen to become green, thus saving Miami from becoming a tacky Venice, or whether it means that “sustainability management” is all about ticking boxes and moving on, I have no idea. Not a single clue.
On Friday I heard a conversation between colleagues about forthcoming holidays. One has booked a flight to Miami where a self-drive rental vehicle with a six-litre combustion engine will be awaiting their arrival with the intention of blasting their way around the State of Florida.
“Gas is so cheap there!” was the justification.
As I hastened to the restroom to conceal my distress, I chucked in some kind of “bathbomb” about the cost to the planet being the same no matter where you purchase the weaponry to destroy it, but my remark fell on ears made of chocolate.
This morning I woke early, finished reading the current novel, spotted a potential job, applied for it (the application took only an hour, not ten days), dressed for Ukraine (including freshly-cut blue-and-yellow ribbons for my hair) and went strutting locally.
Nobody acknowledged my colour-scheme, though I was approached about the bees.
I found one or two unexpected treats in this hedonistic wilderness and took courage from them.
we can learn the lyrics

English lyrics to the traditional Ukrainian song, go:
“Oh, in the meadow a red viburnum has bent down low
“For some reason, our glorious Ukraine is in sorrow
“And we’ll take that red viburnum and we will raise it up
“And we shall cheer for our glorious Ukraine, hey, hey
“And we shall cheer for our glorious Ukraine, hey, hey
“(Hey, hey)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.