earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Lulworth to Swanage

With the weather set fair for the weekend, I made a plan to renew my acquaintance with the coast path between Lulworth and Swanage. It was all done in a bit of a rush and I managed to overlook the fact that buses no longer run from Wareham on a Saturday. I'd planned on dropping in on a good blip friend and she offered to come out and pick me up from the train at Wool. Thank you S. It was wonderful to finally get to meet you and the kindly Mister, plus, most of all, the blip star that is the Radish

With directions given for a route that avoided the throngs at Lulworth Cove (thank you, C), I set off east along the coast path, the visibility perfect, albeit a little chilly when the sun went in. I found the route to be a lot bumpier and more meandering than I remembered. I ran into Swanage having covered 21 miles, with 3,500 ft of climbing, a lot of that steep and brutal. Forty years ago I used to run along here often. It felt great to still be able to do this, a kind of miracle even, considering what my body has suffered over the years!

From Swanage it was then a straightforward journey back to Christchurch via a bus to Wareham and a connecting train. A grand day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.