Scilla

Welcome, Flowers.
Write your name on a name tag.
Find a seat.

Raise your leaf if you've taken a class here before.
Let's go around the room.
Call out your colors.

I see someone's petal has fallen—
please pick it up and put it in your desk
where it belongs.

Sprinklers at recess,
fertilizer for lunch, 
and you may snack on the sun throughout the day.

Excuse me . . .
what's that in your mouth?
A bee?

Did you 
bring enough
for everyone?


Budding Scholars, by April Halprin


It was a beautiful morning about the house (see extra). Among the guests were two blue herons out on the marsh -  the first I've seen this spring. It's pretty hard to get a photo of them with the phone, but I'll keep trying.

The butterfly garden in town is open again, but the only thing in bloom was some Scilla. Not that I know for sure that's what they are, but thanks to my wife and the internet I'm reasonably certain. In any case they added a nice jolt of color to the scene. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.