Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Sunrise

Hello all,

Sorry that yesterday ended up being a cryptic blip.  It didn't start that way but as I was posting I had a call from my sister to say that Mum was seriously poorly.  They had given her a blood transfusion and she'd had an allergic reaction to it.  They gave her adrenaline and antihistamine but her blood tests were not good, and she had sepsis and had gone into septic shock.  At that point they didn't think she would survive the night.

She did look desperately poorly when I got there but I saw her start to rally. "I'm being strong" she kept saying.  They allowed my sister in so all three of use were there, and the staff were just amazing.  It clearly helped Mum as we were reminiscing random events and you could see her blood pressure recovering, and her face come back to life.  I left when she was stable.  My neighbour, Louise came and stayed here (Mr T was already in bed), her husband ran me in (and picked me up later) and they would have stayed here all night if needed.

Mum is much better this morning, and that was a key milestone the doctor identified for her to be sitting up and eating this morning which she did!  What a fright, but what a fighter!  I did pass on the best wishes from Blippers and I knew she was getting better when her reply was "tell them to try harder, it's not b****y working"!!!!  But I think the strength we were all sending to her made the difference.

I will try and catch up on journals and comments, but first I need to finish the CHC appeal and my section of the stage 2 funding application for the dementia research first.

Thank you all for all the kindness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.