Grey Heron

What a morning! The young one spotted me and flew straight over to meet me. She flew past a woman who had been watching her. I fed her the fish and turned around to leave. I just keep walking now and don't look back. I was walking down the main road to get home when the young one flew over me and landed in someone's garden waiting for me to catch up. I turned around and made my way back to the loch with the young one following. We got to the viewing platform I stood waiting on her to fly to the nest. She basically just stood beside me. The woman who had been watching her came back and spoke to me about her saying how amazing it was to witness. As I was speaking I saw the young one head to the nest area. Unfortunately I was still talking when she returned and landed a bit further round the loch. I said my goodbyes to the woman and headed for the exit. I walked down the main road again only to see the young one flying after me. A couple of crows spotted her and chased her. I saw her flying back to the park and the Crows give up the chase. I made hastily for home. 
I was working out that the nest was first spotted at the beginning of March, with the male sitting on it. That would mean that the young had definitely hatched and would be needing fed. There are not many sizeable fish in the loch I suspect, mainly minnows. So it will take a lot of them and perhaps the odd rat to feed the young so I suspect that the young one is looking to me for food for them (she has never behaved like this until recently). I went back about lunch time with some whole sardines I had filleted and boned and a bit of mackerel I also took the sardine heads. She was straight over, had the fish and seemed much more content. No attempt to follow me just a return to the nest area. I think I will need to up the fish for the next few weeks and see how it goes.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.