Appassimento

Today I spent nearly six hours shovelling and barrowing stone chips from The Site of Misdelivery into the refurb garden, where Mrs Oons raked them over weed control fabric. Later there will be more planters than you can shake a stick at.

It's two weeks since I last had a glass of wine, so I opened this. My first reaction to the blurb on the bottle was, is this the most pretentious load of waffle I've ever seen? Then my kinder side thought, well, it really is a complicated story, and I can see it in the label, and it actually does look rather good. In any event, I actually bought the wine because it's a Valpolicella. Yum.

Anyway, here's the text from the bottle, verbatim. You tell me what you think. And bear in mind this is the world that Boris Johnson's mind inhabits, though he thinks it's all true.

"The design concept embraces Ulysses’ 10 year journey home from Troy to Ithaca: Lotus eaters, Circe the Enchantress, the singing sirens, the one-eyed giant Cyclops, the six-headed monster Scylla, the violent whirlpool Charybdis, the underworld,  the bags of wind from Aeolus and his stay with the nymph Calypso."

I can't see a modern cruise company laying on this much entertainment, even if they did take ten years over it, like Ulysses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.