In der Stadt

I usually have my German lessons over Zoom. I'd have preferred face to face but when I approached the Deutsche Centre in Manchester, that was all that was on offer. And, actually, it's been fine.

Today, though, my German teacher was taking advantage of the Easter holidays to visit friends in Manchester, and she suggested that we meet at The Ancoats Coffee Company and do the lesson in person.

I'm trying to minimise my use of English in the lessons, so that even when I don't understand something I ask for clarification in German. I was concentrating so hard at doing this that when the barista brought the coffees over, I thanked him in German.

Anyway, it made for a nice change but it wasn't really any better, which was a relief as I was worried I'd come away wishing that all the lessons could be done that way.

What was nice, though, was the relaxing walk back across to the office. I find the lessons really tiring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.