Great-Grandma’s gingerbread recipe

My mum wrote the recipe for this on the back of an old envelope - people used scrap paper then. I’m not sure if the great-grandma in question was hers or mine, but even if it was mine, she’d be Ella’s great-great-great-grandma. I made the gingerbread for the book group coming to meet at mine on Wednesday morning. The boys are staying here now, till Wednesday evening, hence the early preparation.

I’ve had to rest my leg as the little walk yesterday caused more calf pain. So frustrating. I read a lot of Small Things - maybe too much as I’m getting a bit bored with its “niceness” so I put it aside to read yet another Philby book. This one is about his time in Beirut. It seemed far in the past when I visited that city in 1972.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.