Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

DAY ELEVEN

Quite an early start, though a bit of confusion. I had thought docking in Portofino meant a pier - but no! It’s too small for that - we stopped in the bay outside and got to land in the lifeboat tender. In fact, no large ships can come near it, so we were the only ones. 

Once on the pier, we took a boat along the coast to another couple of sweet wee villages. We had a walk up the hill and a dander round the shops. Although we sat in a beach cafe for a coffee, we then realised that we didn’t have time and had to get back to the boat - I can’t rush, and I hate being last.

For some reason, I did not stop to think that being out on a boat, on a sunny day in spring, might actually be quite cold. I did not bring my jacket or my scarf, though thankfully I did wear a jumper. 

However, once on land, in the wee towns, in the sun, it was lovely. Flashy expensive shops, though I did try to buy a €9 scarf in one, but the owner was too busy talking to her pals to even look my way, so we left.

Back to Portofino, which is actually quite small. We resisted sitting to have a coffee, preferring to come back to the boat for lunch. Bread and cheese, two coffees, sweet and sour chicken stir fry, and a tiny chocolate cake. Oh, and a glass of rosé.

We then popped down to visit the ‘Future Cruise Manager’, Fernando. Of course, they want to tempt you to take another cruise… Watch this space.

We had an evening reception with the captain, and we met up with our Aussie pals, then off for dinner. I didn’t have steak tonight - scallops and prawns for a change.Coffee and wee chocolates in the cafe after, though the Jazz Bar was resisted due to another early start. We’re flagging…

Lucca tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.