Matt6000

By Matt6000

American Skunk Cabbage

American Skunk Cabbage 'Lysichiton americanus' is today's blip. It is regarded as an alien invasive species and many people and organisations want to eradicate it. Native to Westerm North America, it escaped and spread from garden ponds in the UK.
It grows by the mouth of the River Leven as it enters Loch Lomond and I think it is quite pretty, despite the smell which gives it it's common name. It can be quite stinky. I also admire it's tenacity and I'm not sure it is displacing any native plants as it grows in the wet marshes and woodland near the water.
Every now and again they try to get rid of it here but (and I may be wrong) I hope they never succeed as it brightens up the muddy wet bits and I like seeing it. When reading up on it, sites were talking about it alongside Himalayan Balsam and again it is common on the river bank here and very pretty and I have no doubt it will feature as my photo of the day later in the year.
Thinking of starting a campaign 'Safe Haven Invasive Type Species' lol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.