Varenna

Four years ago, I chose not to go on the day trip to Milan. I took the car ferry across to Varenna and explored totally on my own.  One of the others on the tour had recommended a lovely place for a meal and I agreed that the location and quality were sublime.

My return to this magnificent place was no disappointment. Today was more sociable. Three of us wandered along the path at the edge of the lake and spent a really long time in the botanical garden at La Villa Cipressi. 

After people watching, staring at the beauty and just relaxing for an inordinate amount of time, we ended up in the busy square, and sampled the delicious white fish caught in the lake.

Back on the ferry.

A swim in the (quite chilly but beautiful) hotel pool. 

Pure magic. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.