wrperry

By wrperry

Eagle Nest Activity

At first, my visit to this Bald Eagle nest looked like all was quiet.  It was early afternoon, and all I could see was an occasional raised head.  I decided to take a walk up the path, and returned a few minutes later.  Next thing I knew, and of course I was not properly prepared, an adult flew into the nest carrying an unfortunate duck in its talons (extra).  It caused the two juveniles to express an interest, with one in particular sitting up and keeping an eye on what mom or dad was preparing for them.  Shortly after, the adult flew out of the nest and over my head, which is my main blip.  You can see the inquisitive juvenile under its left wing, and the second juvenile's head peaking up.  They were probably wondering why they didn't get to eat first!
It was an unexpected trip and sighting, which was dampened a bit by all of the traffic I encountered getting home.  But it was still worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.