tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Hat: model's own

Sometimes I feel like the model of sustainable eating.

This old hat, which I have had for over 27 years,   has been the receptacle for innumerable small forages: here, hogweed shoots, which I collected on the way home from a walk with the dog. Earlier I picked up a few peppers from the Community Larder (free but you can leave a cash donation.)
Back home I discovered that  my freegan friend had left a box of manky aubergines - too far gone for the Larder but she knows that I'm  always prepared to salvage what's edible. So I made two batches of aubergine chutney and an aubergine risotto for supper.

I collected five eggs  from the hens and some rocket from the greenhouse, ignoring for once the broccoli which is still clamouring to be picked.

This isn't a rant about economising or about the benefits of self-sufficiency.  I'm well aware that "sustainable living" requires a huge imput of time, energy, know-how and cash.  Most of the ingredients needed to make healthy food interesting have to be purchased and if you work to make money how do you make the time to do it anyway?  Energy needed for food prep and cooking is rocketing in cost: how to balance that with what you save?

I rarely travel anywhere now, or buy stuff. My environmental footprint must be quite small - but would I be better occupied joining the XR demonstrations in London than feeling virtuous in the countryside? 

 Whether or not it's a useless exercise, I'd like to give a big shout-out for all those who are/were there.
especially https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2959948355695804611

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.