WIDE AND WILD WEDNESDAY

I am choosing to Blip our roof again today, mainly for our own record - but it is certainly a good one for Wide and even Wild Wednesday.  It’s not sunny today and there is a light breeze, so if I were up on the roof, it would certainly feel wild to me!

I had only just had my shower when the roofing lads came, so was downstairs having my first cup of coffee and drying off whilst wearing my pink robe, so I let Mr. HCB deal with them and didn’t show my face - or anything else for that matter!

They explained to him that they would be taking the tiles off the carport side today, replacing the battens and the felting, then the other side will be done tomorrow.  

I decided it was about time to go and get dressed, making sure before I removed my pink robe that the curtains were completely drawn together.  However, hearing all the noise from the roof where Tristan was removing the tiles, it felt really strange standing there with nothing on!  I know he couldn’t see me - at least I hope he couldn't - but I’m sure you understand where I am coming from!

When I was dressed, I decided to go out and take a few photographs - and today I only took five, but they were good enough to  make a simple collage.

Phil told me that he had found the wasps’ nest that we knew was up in the loft - and had destroyed it.  Some years ago, the wasps had obviously got in underneath the fascia that wasn’t wide enough, and which has caused all the issues with the rotten wood, having allowed the rain to get in.  He also told us that he thinks there is another one on the other side and that he and Tristan had seen several wasps in the last couple of days, whilst they had been working.  We gave them full permission to destroy whatever they find - I told him we had found about six wasps in our conservatory the other evening, but would be glad to get rid of them. 

They are excellent workers, never want to stop for a drink but just like to “crack on” as they say.  Phil said they would be here on Friday, but I explained that we would be out at Church in the morning and then we were going out for a celebratory lunch for Mr. HCB’s birthday.  However, Lynn, our lovely neighbour, has said that if they need anything, she will be around - we are so blessed to have such good neighbours - and this song and especially the cartoon is especially for her!

Thanks Lynn and Mike, you are one two in a million and we are so glad that you and Mike moved in next door to us.

“Being a good neighbour
     is an art that makes life richer.”
Gladys Taber

PS Out for a coffee with Amanda, our grandson’s Mum and her husband, for an early celebration of Mr HCB’s birthday, which is on Friday. He has a wonderful hamper from them - filled with all his favourite things!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.